Last One Standing

imageLone tree, Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I had an unproductive day yesterday, despite the fact it was one of  the nicest days we have seen recently.  I drove around visiting places that can usually get my creative juices going, but it just wasn’t happening. Then today dawned just as beautiful, and I was coming up just as dry.

Do you have tricks or tactics you use to get yourself in gear? I sure would like to hear them if you do.

I had just about written off the day picture-wise and had gone over to a friend’s house to talk about photography in lieu of actually practicing it. It was getting late in the afternoon by the time I started home, but I still decided to take the long way home, and that’s when I saw this lone tree, severely pruned, standing tall against a gorgeous sky.

I’m not quite sure why I find lone trees so interesting. Is it somehow symbolic of the lone individual? Do I imagine Gary Cooper in “High Noon”, standing alone against the gang of outlaws? Or maybe Alan Ladd in “Shane”? I give away my age when I reference these two classic movies, but isn’t there something heroic in human lore about the rugged individual standing alone against the world? All I know is that whenever I see one of these old, gnarly trees that show evidence of their age and hardships I feel strangely proud of them, and sad at the same time.

Pentax K5IIs and 70mm lens, processed in Photoshop CS4 and Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

One comment on “Last One Standing

  1. nikkorbacher says:

    The tree makes the photo, but the clouds are also amazing, including the angular ones immediately above the tree.

    Like

Leave a Reply

