It Takes All Kinds

Seaview-Ave.,Bridgeport,-CtBridgeport, Connecticut © Steven Willard

It takes all kinds. I never used to think too much about it, but it really does take all kinds to make the world an interesting place.

I think the first time I became perfectly aware of that concept was one time I had ridden my bike to the local strip mall to visit the drug store. Our family had just moved from Indiana to Texas, and I was still feeling my way around. I had become friends with a kid down street who had shown me that that was where I could thumb through latest comic books. As I rounded the corner of the building on my bike, there, parked at the curb, was this huge turquoise Cadillac convertible with tan leather upholstery and a very huge set of longhorn steer horns mounted where the hood ornament would normally be. I had never seen anything like it and couldn’t imagine who or why anyone would do such a thing, but it was SO COOL. 

Over the years since then I have often found myself wondering, “Why would someone do that?” Elvis and his jumpsuits, Liberace and his…well, his everything. People with tattoos and piercings, Lady Gaga and her…well, her everything. It certainly isn’t anything new, and it isn’t all that hard to understand; people want to fit in. But ironically they want to be different and stand out as unique at the same time. Some of us just want it more than others.

This house is home to an “antiques shop”, but I think it is really just an excuse to make a statement, “Look at ME!”. It got my attention.

Pentax K10D with kit zoom processed in Photoshop CS4.

2 comments on “It Takes All Kinds

  1. OK. So if this goes in the American Flag series, I’ll have to admit, you’ve got me beat. That’ll teach me.

    Like

  2. Marc Isolda says:

    Excellent reportage old boy!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

