Washington Heights

Washington HeightsWashington, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Chris and I were taking the long way home after an early supper one evening when I drove passed this scene. It was one of those days that had been generally overcast, but as the sun approached the western horizon it got low enough to shine in under the clouds and cast a warm glow on the landscape in contrast to the lead-blue clouds. I turned the car around and pulled off the road to watch the light change, cursing myself that I had left my camera at home, something that I rarely do. The light was getting better and better and Chris got out of the car to take a picture with her iPhone which was like salt on the wound. I was left with no alternative; use my own phone or miss the image all together. I swallowed my pride and made a half dozen exposures, and vowed once again to never leave the house without my “real” camera.

Later, I decided to see what could be done with the best exposure in Snapseed®, Nik Software’s free photo-editing tool for iOS and now Android. The result is something I’m quite happy with; not the image I would have ended up with if I had used my Pentax, but nice and with a quality I find pleasing. It makes a lovely “miniature” print about 6X8 that is reminiscent of some small paintings.

This long meadow is bordered by Judea Road on the west and I think must be one of the highest farmable tracts in Litchfield county. This part of the state is a source of constant surprise; round a bend in the road and a field I hadn’t seen before opens up before me. It’s what keeps me going back again and again.

Image made with iPhone 4s and edited in NIk Snapseed®, which can be imported to Photoshop for further work and printing.

4 comments on “Washington Heights

  1. Marc Isolda says:

    Very reminescent of the Barbizon school of painting!!!! Very nice

    Like

  2. Thanks Marc for saying “Barbizon”, I couldn’t think of it, but it was what I meant.

    Like

  3. nikkorbacher says:

    Stunning light.

    Like

Leave a Reply

