Look Again

imageFort Ticonderoga, New York ©Steven Willard

Sometimes we need to stop and look again. My wife and I stopped at Fort Ticonderoga on our way home from a trip to Lake Champlain Islands. We didn’t have much time, but while we were there we did get a chance to see the gun drill pictured here. I made a few exposures of the proceedings and managed in this shot to catch the peak of the exercise.  It’s a pretty good record; the timing is good, the focus is sharp, and the exposure is right on. In the color version, the colors are bright and seem accurate to my eye, but I was underwhelmed. It looks like something  one sees in a publicity brochure, so I put it away.

Weeks later I was going through my files, “mining” some folks call it, for things I might have missed, and stopped at this one. I brought it up on the monitor and had another look. In color I still wasn’t impressed, but when I converted it to black and white I thought I might have something I could use. So I went through my usual steps in Photoshop, but it wasn’t until I was going over the image at 100%, looking for sensor dust spots, that I saw what I had missed till then; and that is the point of this post. I had been so focused on the action at the canon, and so intent on the processing, that I missed what was going on elsewhere in the image. I failed to see what makes this image a success, at least for me. I learned another lesson; look, then really LOOK at a photograph before dismissing it.

Pentax K10D with kit zoom, processed in Photoshop CS4.

One comment on “Look Again

  1. Joe says:

    Great image Steven 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

