Persistence

image In the Woods, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I’ve had some trouble getting myself in gear lately. I can excuse it, in part, on health issues, and and I can blame it partly on the weather, but ultimately I have to admit it comes down to a lack for personal drive; a lack of persistence. Though I may want to do something, I have too often been unable to drag myself away from the television where I sit and watch reruns of NCIS or The Big Bang Theory. To make matters worse, when I do manage to get off the couch and start something I have a really difficult time finishing it.

I’ve tried to come up with some strategies to overcome this issue, this lack of persistence. One way has been to set smaller goals. I seem to be better off breaking tasks down into smaller segments that are more easily accomplished and, having mastered one goal, using that accomplishment as a prod to finish the next small step.

Looking at the image above, we can see that the tree has, over time, taken advantage of the smallest of cracks in the rocks to extend its roots and strengthen its position. Slowly it has worked away, using the heat of summer and the pressure of ice in winter to force its way into the rocks. It is an example of what can be achieved by using even the smallest advantage.

I can learn something from this tree. I don’t need to wait until the path is easy. I can make better use of even the smallest bit of time to get something done. I can set a course then work toward it, however slowly, but be willing to go around an unsurmountable obstacle if I must. I can keep track of success and progress so I know I’m moving forward. I can cut myself some slack as long as I keep trying to move ahead with a little persistence.

Pentax K10D, 35 macro lens, image processed in Photoshop CS4 and converted to black and white in Nik Silver Efex Pro2.

Leave a Reply

