Embrace the Unexpected

imageYellow Barn, Middlebury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

This is what comes of curiosity. For years I’ve taken the road that goes past this farm. The buildings are always carefully maintained, and the grounds well kept; a perfect example of the New England farm; except the barn is the wrong color! I guess someone felt that red gets a bit tiresome. Anyway, I had a few minutes to spare and I took a few minutes to explore the side road that curves around behind the barn, to the small cemetery that was the focus of my interest. But once there what caught my eye was this unexpected view of of the barn.

The triangle of yellow was so unexpected, and together with the brown grass it offered a surprising color pallet that begged to be photographed. I’ve been long winded of late, so I’ll leave it at that.

Pentax K10D with 50mm f1.4 legacy lens, processed in Photoshop CS4.

3 comments on “Embrace the Unexpected

  1. Theresa Navarre says:

    I am glad someone is breaking the rules! As long as it isn’t that loud cyan color that hurts your eyes…

    Like

  2. thelmacrape says:

    I love the stories that go with photographs. Be as long winded as you like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

