A quiet moment

imageMain room, Woodbury Public Library, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I stopped in at the library to drop off a book and look for a replacement the other day. I now have an iPad and the ability to read downloaded books, even read them on my iPhone, but I still prefer the experience on holding a “real” book, turning “real” pages. While there, however, I took some time looking at magazines and found a comfortable chair to read a couple of articles. Do you get the sense that I was enjoying a leisurely afternoon?

Well, as I sat there, I had occasion to look up from my chair and was taken with the interesting flow of lines and intersecting angles. I had a camera with me (no surprise there) and so I made a few exposures “just in case”. I brought them into Snapseed and I rather like the result.

Panasonic Lumix G3 with 20mm f1.7 lens, processed in Photoshop CS4* and later in Snapseed on my iPad Air.

*I sometimes process the files on my desktop in Photoshop CS4 and then move the edited result to my iPad Air using Google Drive. Once there I may use Snapseed to make small global adjustments prior to uploading them to WordPress. It is liberating to not be tied to only one method of work; to be more spontaneous.

2 comments on “A quiet moment

  1. Theresa Navarre says:

    A strong, directional image. Are the curved windows in the lower right an effect or actually curved? It is open for interpretation. Nice work.

    Like

  2. That wall is in fact curved, as are the windows in it. You have touched on part of what caught my eye; the “ambiguity factor”. I am particularly fond of images that ask questions rather than answer them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

