Waiting for Thai

IMG_1158e-mailMaple Trees and Barn, Southbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I was sitting in my car while waiting for my carryout food order when I noticed the play of light on the side of this old barn. It was late in the day and the sun, slightly diffused by high clouds, was casting strange shadows and highlighting the tree on the left while leaving the tree on the right in shadow. I pulled my car around until I could compose this image by resting the camera on the window sill; I never got out of the car. I zoomed in a bit and took about six exposures with my little Canon G10 compact camera, the one camera I never leave home without. By then my order was ready and it was home for dinner.

This is one of my images that has an odd appeal to me. I can’t quite explain why I like it. Maybe it’s the mysterious light, maybe it’s the mixture of surfaces and textures, or perhaps it’s the memory of the chance encounter when light and subject just happened to present themselves while I waited for carryout Thai. Whatever the reason, it is one more example of why I try my damnedest to keep a camera close by all the time.

Canon G10, processed in Photoshop CS4 and converted to black and white in Nik Silver Efex Pro2.

5 comments on “Waiting for Thai

  1. Pat says:

    Great image, Steven. I, too, have been there and taken images that I really enjoy for the same reasons you wrote. They are to be treasured because that is what photography is all about.

    Like

    • There must be a way to balance wanting to understand why images “work”; we aren’t monkeys after all, and the ability to just let fly and enjoy the freedom without over analyzing the process. Part of the enjoyment I derive from photography is trying to understand why some images speak to me and others don’t, and that especially goes for my own images.

      Like

      • Pat says:

        I agree. Every so often I think I need to join a photography club so I can have conversations to see if my images speak to others in the same way they do to me – but I am too much of a loner. It is helpful when people leave comments about my photos. Now that I know you engage in the same process I do, I’ll let you know when and why your photos speak to me.

        Like

  2. That would be great. Of course we all enjoy when someone “likes” an image, but what I value is when someone comments; what they like, or dislike, and why. I know that that is more difficult and time consuming, but then I know we are really communicating, and ultimately that is what photography is about for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

