Sometimes it’s worth it

IMG_0983Roxbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

One of the issues I have with winter is how much darker it is when I have to get up to go to work. During the rest of the year I really don’t have any problems getting up, in fact I am usually awake before the alarm goes off. Winter is another matter; in winter I want to pull the blanket over my head and go back to sleep. When I do manage to get up and out of the house though, I’m sometimes rewarded with unexpected beauty.

On a hunch this morning I took one of my alternate routes past this field with it’s lone tree. It’s one of several trees I keep my eye on for this kind of opportunity. Over the years I’ve made dozens of photographs of this tree under any number of conditions. On this morning I was lucky.I got here just in time to see the sun line up behind the tree for just a few minutes. I made some exposures and then it was over.

The image really was none of my doing; it was all there for the taking. All I had to do was drag myself out of bed.

Canon G10, processed on Photoshop CS4.

8 comments on “Sometimes it’s worth it

  1. Pat says:

    This is so beautiful – and you obviously knew where to look. You put yourself in the right place at the right time. I remember the beauty of the morning ride to work in January and February. It was so beautiful, I almost miss it. 🙂

    Like

  2. Joe says:

    Beautiful capture Steven.

    Like

  3. Theresa Navarre says:

    Beautiful photo Steve. The morning has so many hidden treasures! I wish I was an early riser and was able to get myself out of bed to experience this kind of fleeting beauty. Well done!

    Best,

    Theresa

    Like

  4. Mike Crape says:

    Beautiful shot Steven. I agree with you, those dark winter days make it tough getting going. Glad you did!

    Like

Leave a Reply

