Pink is my favorite color

MOMA'08Museum of Modern Art, New York, New York © Steven Willard

Memory, and what triggers it, is fascinating to me; I may have mentioned that before. Not so much how some people can recall streams of numbers, or remember the names of people they recently met, because while I can’t do it, I do believe there is a technique involved that can be learned. I’m fascinated by how we store memories for long periods that can then be brought forward by a word or a melody, or perhaps a color or scent. How do we do that?

I was visiting MOMA, and odd as it sounds, with all the things to stimulate the senses what caught my eye was this man wearing pink Crocs®. When I saw them all I could think of was the Aerosmith song “Pink”. I don’t know all the words to the song, but that line went round and round in my head and I really wanted to get a photograph of them. When he stopped to get a drink I took the opportunity to make a couple of exposures. The whole time I could hear Steven Tyler’s voice.

It’s this ability of photographs to tickle the memory that seems to affect me, and it goes both ways. The most common is when a photograph jogs some memory.  The other, less common, is when the memory of a situation moves me to make a photograph. I’ll take either one any time, but I’d sure like to have a better understanding of how it all works.

Pentax K10D with kit zoom. Processed in Photoshop CS4.

2 comments on “Pink is my favorite color

  1. What can one say. You’ve done it again. This photograph has everything — gesture, color event, light, composition, wit and meaning — need I go on? Thanks again for the lesson in what photography is all about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

