Gone but not forgotten

12:2012,Washington-BarnIn Washington, Connecticut © Steven Willard

This weekend snow storm reminded me of this image I made a couple of years ago. It was after a lovely snowfall, not so cold as the weather we have been having of late, but cold enough that I could only manage to be out for a few minutes before my hands got too cold to work properly.

This barn had been a subject for several “portraits” before so I had it in mind when I went looking for a something to photograph in the snow. It’s a good thing I did, because the following year the barn was torn down to make way for a new home with an inviable view of the valley just out of sight in this image. It made me sad to loose the barn, but I could certainly understand why the homeowners chose the site. Some day I’ll stop by and ask permission to photograph the home and a bit more of the view it commands. It’s another reminder to me that we better record these things while we can because just like the snow they won’t always be here.

Pentax K10 D with 18-55 kit zoom, processed in Photoshop CS4

2 comments on “Gone but not forgotten

  1. Joe says:

    Great image Steven, I love it 😉 looks like it would be great for an artist to do an oil painting of this scene.

    Like

  2. Thanks for your kind words Joe, comments are always appreciated. I hope someone did paint it, because it’s too late now. Now there is a large house (larger than the barn) in it’s place. Progress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

