The eyes have it

Marc

Marc, Conneticut © Steven Willard

As you might be able to tell from this photograph, Marc can be pretty intense. It’s his home I visit Friday evenings for a beer or two and conversation with a couple of other regular guys. We don’t talk about sports or religion and we try to stay clear of politics, but it’s amazing how many other things we do find to discuss. Music, technology, history, science and photography. Marc is an accomplished photographer* and is a licensed camera and instrument repairman who worked on the Hubble space telescope.

I sometimes feel a bit intimidated by him and the others and will resort to humor when I’m caught in over my head, or I’ll just keep silent rather than reveal my ignorance. They are a good bunch of guys, and I’m glad they count me as one of them. It’s important to feel you belong. I think it’s part of the reason for gangs; and religion too. I’ll stick with the guys at Marc’s on Friday nights, it’s safer.

Addendum: It wasn’t until after this post had been up for a while that I realized I had forgotten to acknowledge that November 10 is the United States Marine Corps’  238th birthday, an especially egregious oversight since Marc is a Marine veteran wounded in Vietnam.

*See some of his work here at http://marcisolda.wordpress.com/.

Pentax K5IIs with 70mm lens. Processed in Photoshop CS4 and converted to black and white in NIk Silver Efex Pro 2.

2 comments on “The eyes have it

  1. Here once more you show your masterful eye for portraiture. How many times have I snapped a photo of Marc looking back at me. Never have I caught this aspect of him. It’s a wonderful and truthful moment.

    Like

  2. Marc Isolda says:

    My forehead is melting!!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

