I know, I know

SiloBarns and silo, Washington, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I know, another picture of a red barn in New England, it’s true. My only defense is that I was really taken with the graphic nature of the image; stark shapes and patriotic colors. I will confess that it was the shapes that drew me to it. I confess, I wasn’t aware of the red, white and blue until I saw the image on the computer screen.  Here is the same image as I imagined it when I made the exposure.

Silo-B&W

I like them both, but they are very different in emotional effect to me. Do you have a preference? Why?

Pentax K5IIs with 70mm lens processed in Photoshop CS4. The black and white version was “developed” in Nik Silver Efex Pro2.

5 comments on “I know, I know

  1. Joe says:

    I never get tired of seeing barns, great shot Steven.

    Like

  2. Mike Crape says:

    A great shot Steven, glad you didn’t pass it by.

    Like

  3. nikkorbacher says:

    I prefer the color one. The colors provide great contrast, and they delineate layers which in turn provides depth. I also like how each color defines a flat expanse, unmarred by any intrusions (such as clouds, trees or bushes, streaks of gunk on the roofs, or blemishes in the red side of the barn).

    Like

Leave a Reply

