Urn with Fern

Urn-with-FernUrn With Fern, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

Okay, I’ll admit it. There was no “good” reason to make this image. None whatsoever, but what great fun. Too often I’m looking for something with more meat on it; a photograph that has nothing to say either by itself or as an illustration to go with one of my short essays. Here, I was only taken with the textures and patterns. I liked the out of focus front door in the background with the two lights burning even in the bright sun, but it was those two words that drew me in; urn and fern.

I wrote someplace in an earlier post that I’m trying to loosen up. This is about as loose as I seem to manage, and if it weren’t for the urn/fern thing I’m not sure if I would have bothered.In other words, hearing those two words in my head prompted me to take this photograph. Does that make sense? I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m moved to make pictures when the subject speaks to me; when I can almost hear a caption or headline in my head. For me it’s almost like a dialog. The subject says one thing and I answer, it says something else and I respond. This goes on until I get the image in on the computer screen. If it’s still talking I know I have something. Does anyone else share this experience or am I crazy? I’d really like to know.

Pentax K5 IIs and legacy 50mm f1.4 manual focus lens. Processed in Photoshop CS4 and Silver Efex Pro 2.

Leave a Reply

