Cows and Corn*

Corn-and-Cows

Cows and Corn, Somewhere in Connecticut © Steven Willard. Click on the image to enlarge.

I was recently going through my image files in yet another attempt to put them in some semblance of order. I’ve been purging images I once had some hope for but now have decided aren’t worth the effort or disc space. I can recall where, if not exactly when, most of them were made, but this image is an exception. I have no recollection at all of having made it.

I’ll turn 67 at the end of the year and I know the little grey cells aren’t what they used to be but this something of a first for me. I’ll admit that I forget many things, but up until now where I took a photograph hasn’t been one of them. This has been something of a source of pride with me; I might not recall when the image was made or who is in them, but I’ve always been able to remember where. This has me a little worried.

I’m pretty sure that this image was taken somewhere near Lakeville, CT so that’s where I headed. I had intended to stop at Toymaker’s Cafe in Falls Village, it was so busy I headed up to Salisbury for a cup of coffee at The Roost only to find out that it is no longer in business. To add to my frustration I was never able to locate this field. Maybe I should start making notes of GPS locations but I doubt that’s going to happen. Perhaps I’ll see about some sort of devise that tags the image automatically. If anyone has experience with something like that I’d like to hear from you.

Pentax K10D with 35mm macro lens. This is a four image stitch processed on Photoshop CS4 and converted to black and white in Silver Efex Pro 2.

* This image and eleven others from my “Quiet Connecticut” portfolio are on exhibit at the Woodbury, CT Library through the end of September. For more details see the blog post from September 9th.

4 comments on “Cows and Corn*

  1. Thank you Steve. This image is gorgeous beyond words. And “Somewhere in Connecticut” has a lovely ring to it. Besides, no matter how hard we try, we can never return to the images of yesterday. The river is changing and so are we.

    Like

  2. Mike Crape says:

    Fantastic image Steven and your story made me smile. Technology does have some benefit, perhaps a gps enabled flash card may be the trick for future reference however I like the mystery of it… Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

