A Picture of a Sunset not taken

Picture a sunset here.

There is nothing wrong. There isn’t a photograph. I didn’t take it.

My wife and I were on our way home with some carryout for dinner. It was a beautiful evening after an afternoon of clouds and rain. The rain had passed leaving a partly cloudy sky that had all the promise of a wonderful sunset.  There was no hurry, so we decided to take a detour that would take us to a hilltop where we could park and watch a glorious display of nature.

It’s always surprising how fast the sun appears to move as it gets near the horizon, and how fast the colors go from gold to a rosy pink, the sky turning hues of blue too many to name. Then it’s over until next time.

We sat in the car and watched for maybe twenty minutes as the clouds moved and the colors changed. We talked little and when we did it was in hushed tones, as if speaking aloud would somehow spoil the show. We just held hands and enjoyed the spectacle. We don’t do that enough; just sit and hold hands. It’s my fault. I come from a loving family, we just didn’t do a lot of that sort of thing. Chris and I have been together almost thirty years and I  love her more every day. I should be better at demonstrating it by now. This was a reminder to show her more often.

My camera case was in the back seat as usual, but I didn’t touch it. I didn’t want to break the spell to take a photograph of a sunset that would never be as good as my memory of it. Sometimes it’s best to leave the camera alone and just enjoy the moment.

By the time we got home it was dark, but I could still see that sunset.

2 comments on “A Picture of a Sunset not taken

  1. This is a lovely story, and I am glad you shared it with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

