A Beautiful Summer Day

Main-Street-Door

On Main Street, Woodbury, Connecticut © Steven Willard

I stopped for coffee and a muffin at Ayla’s this morning as I do most mornings. They have free wi-fi and it’s a good place to sit and catch up on what’s happening internet-wise, but after a while I started to get antsy. It was a perfect Sunday morning, just too nice to sit, so I drove over to what passes for the center of town and parked. I just wanted to walk around the few short blocks that I’ve come to know so well after living here for almost twenty-five years. Most of the time I’m driving by and don’t really pay attention.

I put one of my oldest lenses, 55mm f3.5 Micro Nikkor, on the litttle Panasonic Lumix G3 via a Fotodiox adapter. This has turned out to be a surprisingly good combination. The lens is incredibly sharp, light and with the deeply recessed front element it doesn’t need a lens hood. It focuses easily and balances nicely on the G3 and with the Micro 4/3 crop factor it works out to about the equivalent of 110mm on full frame.

I find that I have to make myself stop and pay attention to where I live every so often. Woodbury is a small town, and it’s all too easy to think I’ve seen everything.

The image was processed in Photoshop CS4 from the largest jpeg file available (I still don’t have a way to process the raw files from the Lumix) then converted to black and white in Nik Silver Efex Pro 2.

*

4 comments on “A Beautiful Summer Day

  1. Mike Crape says:

    Nice shot Steven, true we don’t spend enough time seeing what is right in front of us most days.

    Like

  2. Susan Reinberg says:

    Just lovely Steve. A symphony of line, shape, light and shadow. Your usual artistry at work.

    Like

  3. Thank you for your kind remarks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

